(Reblog, published on 4/9/2015)

This marks the start of my self-imposed 100 days no Facebook challenge. It may sound silly but, I really would like to figure out how to “somehow” go back in time. No Facebook, and no other fuzz that comes with it. It has been roughly 7 years of using Facebook and I’ve been wondering, what have changed then? Every morning when I wake up until the time I have to hit my sack, I’m constantly checking updates and majority of my Facebook time goes to reading other people’s post which left me thinking–does it really makes sense to me to read all their posts? Only to figure out that I’ve been stressing myself so much lately because of that. Even if I don’t comment on their posts but I can NOT keep myself from commenting inside my head. I’ve been stuffing myself with unnecessary information about people, “selfies”, and all their dramas in life. I guess I can say that only 3% of what’s in my Facebook timeline is (1) fascinating and (2) worth seeing. This includes the articles, informative fan pages and people having fun with their family and friends (of course this comes with tons of selfies and group pictures.)

However and unfortunately, the information that we can gather in Facebook are random–so random that even your friends’ life dramas are part of your Facebook “daily reads”. I know they can post whatever they want on their wall because it’s their account after all, yadah yadah..yadah yadah.. but come to think of it, we have the liberty to screen what we feed our minds. It can also include negative posts about other people. Honestly, it kind of stressing me out. So stressed out that I already demand things from myself to show other people (such as achievements, witty posts to prove my superior mentality) which leads me to my second reason..

I’VE BEEN TRYING TO IMPROVE MYSELF NOT FOR ME, BUT FOR OTHER PEOPLE TO SEE AND ADORE.

Have you been wondering, if people will not see your selfie are you still willing to post it online? If you are the only people in this world that has Facebook, would you still post your stunning photos and just let it sit there, no people noticing it? Frankly, Facebook has changed me. I’m not saying that Facebook is bad, not at all. But it somehow changes you into a person you don’t want to be. You might not realize it now but, I hope you will in the future. Only people with great discipline can only use Facebook moderately. I disciplined myself not to post any more selfies. I realized, I just want to gather people’s explicit admiration for how I look (so much for the likes and comments huh). Yes it can boost your (1) self-esteem and (2) followers. But come to think of it, do you really need other people’s appraisal to boost your self-esteem? Are you willing to stick yourself with a practice that is not even worth your time? Do you consider being out there, doing things that you are and will be passionate about rather than sit there all day long, thinking what instagram filters can make you beautiful and stunningly gorgeous?

Is it healthy?

For your state of mind and spirituality?

Do you really need people to praise you, or can you believe that you are BEAUTIFUL without tons of selfies?

As God says in Proverbs 27:2

“Let someone else praise you, and not your own mouth; an outsider, and not your own lips.”

and in Matthew 15:10-11

“And he called the people to him and said to them, ‘Hear and understand: it is not what goes into the mouth that defiles a person, but what comes out of the mouth; this defiles a person.'”

One cannot serve two masters.

With this in mind, I would like to answer these questions in 100 days.

1. WIll I do things that I like not to impress my Facebook friends but because I do it for myself and expand my horizons?

2. Will I be happier each day and less stressed out?

3. Will I discover new ideas and learnings?

4. Will I learn to connect more with people by talking rather than checking their Facebook timeline?

5. Will I be less “stressed” out?

6. Will I be happier?

..so many questions

…in 100 days

….of no Facebook exploration. 

I want to see how far I will get..

*Disclaimer

if by chance you read this, it is because I posted it on my Instagram or because of WordPress dashboard. This post is purely self-motivated and not for any other purposes.

**I will update my blog from time to time about my self-imposed recollection.

🙂

Leave a Reply

