Reflections #2: On Praying Big Prayers to the Big God

It’s really funny how my body works when I’m on a high wave of stress, pressure, deadlines, exams. It automatically shuts off itself and tells me: “Hey MITCHELLE, rest muna, pwede? (Hey Mitchelle, take a break okay?)”

Now, I am on one of those situations now and as I was typing this blog, I watch my brother play his PS4. Surely I can spend my day off playing, but I’d rather do something productive. ๐Ÿ˜„

I want to share how my life worked and how I am really blessed by praying big prayers to a big God. Yes, throughout my lifetime-even as a small child-I used to pray to this big God for requests, healing, and sometimes even small things. I guess, if I have something to be grateful for, that is I learned to pray and talk to my Creator-and He does answers prayers.

I wonder why people limit God’s powers in their lives. They pray with hesitations, they pray with doubts, they pray with questions in their minds. Whether if God is really good, does he (really) answers prayers and a lot of stuff. Surely, we experienced disappointments with our relationships here on earth. But let us remember that our God is good and perfect, and with Him, no relationship is bound to fail.

He answers prayers in three forms: if you don’t receive any answer it means you have to (1) wait, if your prayers didn’t turn out exactly what you hoped for, that is a (2) no, and lastly if you get what you prayed for, that means (3) yes. Believe that God is good and whatever answer He gives you, that doesn’t erase His goodness. Sometimes, what we pray for can be detrimental to our being. We just don’t see it.

Does this mean that you can pray to God everything? Yes.

If it concerns you, it is also God’s business. That’s how much we love us. There’s no personal territory that is unknown to God.

If you want to pray big prayers to a lovely God, here’s the three things you should remember:

God is good all the time, and all the time, God is good.

So cliche, but it is always true. We might not be aware of the fact that we sometimes see God as somebody who refuses our wishes, somebody who just doesn’t see us, or somebody who just don’t care about our everyday lives. This is just plainly wrong.

You see, you are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). For a better appreciation, I suggest you read human anatomy books. There’s volumes of books about our body processes, about how our body works, how it protects itself from foreign invaders (bacteria, germs, viruses), and how it seems to have a mind of its own. Even our cells has a complex processes that contributes to our overall well being. I believe that’s what this verse meant. God thought of us before we were even born. So bear in mind that if something bothers or concerns you, it concerns Him too. That’s how much He love us.

See how big our God is.

Don’t you even wonder why the sky seems to overwhelm you no matter how high trees are, or how majestic buildings can be. For me, it is a reminder that no matter how we think our life seems to be in control, there’s always a bigger Being that can turn things around. With that in mind, I don’t want you to think that because God is bigger than us, that means we don’t matter. That’s actually the opposite of the truth, even if we are just His creation. He loves us, because God is love. He cannot deny what He is. Even if He made all the galaxies, universe, planets, and all the microscopic beings that seems to be invincible in our naked eyes, He sees us. He actually have our hairs numbered! (See Luke 12:7)

So if you have something you want to pray for, even if it is impossible, be bold to ask God. ๐Ÿ˜€ Because he is not only BIG, He is also LOVING.

God has the best plans for your life.

Some may argue, “I am in a really bad situation right now, how can God be so good? How can he have the best plans for me if I am experiencing this and that?” Sadly, as humans we are prone to doubting God. We are really good in doubting something especially if we don’t understand it. Even if we don’t understand remember this promise found in Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you,โ€ says the Lord. โ€œThey are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

He is our Creator and all the time He knows what best for us. If you think that you have your best intention for your life in general, you thought it wrong. Our minds tell us lies that we don’t realize. Do you know that our minds interpret what we see? It also applies to our perspective, our understanding, our wisdom-you name it, everything. We live in a sinful world, and even our mind is sinful. Trust God, because only He has the best interest for you.

*******

Remember these truths, and you are off to having a better life. Be confident that God hears all prayers, be it a career, love life, finances, travels, or even our life’s purpose. He is generous enough to answer you. If you have doubts, pray for it and God will give you the answer. Just have the eyes and ears to listen, and a humble heart to accept anything God will give you as an answer.

Big prayers can change a life, even yours. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

