Reflection #4: Importance of Life

I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;  and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?” -Jesus

In every mind of living person lies the question to meaning of life-if it’s not defined, it is hopeless to extract purpose from it. For a person who have faced death for four consecutive years, I might say meaning is not a mystery to me anymore.

At a young age, I have seen different kinds of death. Those that are expected, unexpected or untimely, with remorse or guilt, and meaningful ones. As I lay on that hospital bed, death is common, but what I did not see is a purposeful death.

Going back to the normal life, after 6 years, I came to a point where I stopped on my tracks & climbing the career ladder, and questioned myself, “For after what happened and all I’ve been through, is this the life I am going to live?”

Then God answered the question that weren’t for Him,

“No.”

And then, after so many debates with my cranky self and ton of prayers, I decided to pursue medicine.

This Easter sunday, every Christian (regardless of the denomination) celebrates the fact that Jesus rose from the dead and claimed victory over sin & death, and through this, He has given us life-a worthy, and purposeful one.

For whoever believes in Him, shall not perish but have an eternal life.

What kind of life is it?

This is the question I once asked myself. But I didn’t pursue its meaning right then and there. I let its meaning unfold through wisdom and time.

Finally, I got the answer.

It wasn’t an easy one pursuing the life that I did not envision on doing-saving lives. It is something that I consider impossible. Though, in my decision process, I understood the importance of life.

It’s meaning is found in living it and it’s importance is found on living it out.

Meaning, as defined by God is having a life that’s existing within God’s love. It is living each day as if tomorrow is endless. It is living as if there’s no death that will someday haunt you.

Life is defined by God’s standard of love-purposeful, relentless, and selfless.

and it’s importance is found on doing what God has shaped you to do. It’s just that simple.

By doing what God has made you to do, your define your life’s importance because you get to see it’s contribution to the world you’re living in. The importance that contributes to a greater sense and purpose. Your own life’s philosophy that will never be taken away from you. It can never be measured by someone else.

Both can be found by knowing Jesus-the Author, and the Creator of life.

Leave a Reply

